page top

Our History

Attention: open in a new window. Print

Central Coast Credit Union (CCCU) originally started in 1965 as Wyong Shire Council Employees’ Credit Union (WSCU) when a group of dedicated council staff got together and decided to form a mutual financial institution for the benefit of all council workers and their families.

The Credit Union was quickly established with steady growth due to advertising, support from senior staff, assistance from the Credit Union League and the service the Credit Union offered. In 1970, family membership was first introduced. In 1980, 580 were members of the Credit Union out of the 713 permanent WSCU employees. In 1986, the Credit Union office relocated to new area within Council building to give more office space. 

The official title of the Credit Union was Wyong Shire Council Employees' Credit Union until 1996 when it was changed to Wyong Council Credit Union. In 2012, the Credit union changed its name to Wyong Shire Credit Union. In 2016, the Credit Union changed its name once again, to Central Coast Credit Union. On 1 December 2018, Central Coast Credit Union became a division of Unity Bank. History of Unity Bank.